Unable to compile project with recyclerview-v7 dependency

Hello

I am unable to compile my project with recyclerview-v7 dependency uncommented in the starter hello world js+nativescript template.

I am pretty new to nativescript and am unable to find any help for this topic on google.

I have updated all requirements. Have got the latest tns and android build tools and oreo.

I am using windows 10 x64 architecture.
without this dependency everything works fine.

and please tell what is this? until now I have understood that this lets us install app on android v < kitkat.

I have previously made an android app in android studio which used to add this package to support devices with lower android versions.

If I am wrong please correct me with this.
My main aim is to target all previous versions upto jellybean 4.1

when I build the project the output is :

F:\Ashish\Android\myProjects\HelloWorld>tns build android
Preparing projectā€¦
Successfully prepared plugin nativescript-theme-core for android.
Successfully prepared plugin tns-core-modules for android.
Successfully prepared plugin tns-core-modules-widgets for android.
Project successfully prepared (android)
Building projectā€¦
Gradle buildā€¦
+ applying user-defined configuration from F:\Ashish\Android\myProjects\HelloWorld\app\App_Resources\Android\app.gradle
+ adding nativescript runtime package dependency: nativescript-optimized
+ adding aar plugin dependency: F:\Ashish\Android\myProjects\HelloWorld\node_modules\tns-core-modules-widgets\platforms\android\widgets-release.aar
false
Running full build
F:\Ashish\Android\myProjects\HelloWorld\platforms\android\app\src\debug\java\com\tns\ErrorReportActivity.java:13: error: cannot access ActivityCompatApi23
public class ErrorReportActivity extends AppCompatActivity {
^
class file for android.support.v4.app.ActivityCompatApi23 not found