Starting up with NativeScript - newbi questions

Hi All,
I’m new to NativeScript and this community. I’ve gone though the Hello World and Groceries tutorials and I have a number of questions regarding NativeScript development before I start my new app with it. I originally develop apps in Titanium, and I find that while the concept is somehow similar, NativeScript is very very different.

So I guess I’ll start…

1. My most important question: Angular vs. Non-Angular - So I’ve noticed that I can develop an app using Angular with TypeScript, app without angular and TypeScript or app without angular and without TypeScript (plain javascript).
    My question is about performance. When loading the app it probably needs to load the Angular framework, which probably takes time. And angular framework itself (with all it’s advantages) probably has some hit on performance.
    So what is the best approach here? How bad (if at all) is using Angular affects the performance of the app?

2. Another performance question: In Titanium there was a “classic” project and a (newer) Alloy project where the UI can be defined in XML. But on compile, the XML is translated to JS code - to the “classic” version of it.
    On NativeScript (and especially with Angular) my understanding is that XML is parsed on run-time and then evaluated in JS? doesn’t it make it slower?

3. In Titanium, upon compilation, all JS files are minified - is the process the same in NativeScript?

4. In the tutorial it’s teaching about the naming conventions “To give a specific example, the CLI moves platform.ios.css into platforms/ios and renames it to platform.css; similarly, the CLI moves platform.android.css into platforms/android, and again renames it to platform.css”.
    What if there’s also a platform.css file with shared design for iOS and android - will it merge the 2 files?