Performance: Nativescript Angular v Nativescript Vanilla

Hi There,

I am brand new to nativescript. I have a background in node web development, and recently have spent a while coding up an app for production in ionic for both ios and android. I have had some concerns about ionic’s performance for that app–I noticed some buttons acting finicky and navigation being slow sometimes.

Because performance is important to me on this app, I looked around, and nativescript seems like a very promising option. (I considered coding in React Native and also Swift, but I don’t enjoy using those technologies as much as javascript, angular, etc.)

Here’s my question: for someone who cares about things like a smooth experience for the end-user, fast navigation, and reliable performance, should I use nativescript-Angular or nativescript-Vanilla Javascript for this production app? I have a slight preference for coding in angular, because that is what I got used to while using ionic, but vanilla javascript is ok too.

In reviewing the forums, I have seen people say that before nativescript Angular was slower, especially on Android, but that maybe with nativescript 3 things have evened out a bit?

This is important to me especially because I am switching from other frameworks to nativescript mainly for performance improvements.

Thanks!

Hi, valid concerns. I think the best way to verify the performance is by downloading a few apps from the stores. Here’s a selection of apps built with and without Angular: https://www.nativescript.org/app-samples-with-code

Note that fi. that plugins showcase app is mine, and includes 30 external plugins, so it’s a bit slower to load than your average app. But that would also be the case if it wouldn’t have been created with Angular. I have Angular apps in the NL store that load within 2 seconds on Android and subsecond on iOS.