Nativescript & MySQL

Hi!

I’m new to nativescript dev and I have good experience in developing in JS, HTML5 et PHP. The local database is good for many apps design but not for all.

I’m looking for information and example on how to use hosted MySQL database to work with my nativescript app. I have found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuLRKMqozwA which explain how to use node.js to connect to MySQL database.

If I’m not wrong, nativescript use node.js but this video doesn’t show/explain how to access an hosted MySQL database with nativescript.

I want to be able to login to a service and read/update/insert text information. At the end, If I also could update picture too, that would be great.

I have looked around google and youtube for such examples which are for me the basic of the basics service you may offer (like on an app like Tinder).

What I’m looking is possible or not?

Hey Omizu,

Is there a particular reason you would want your application directly communicating with the database? What do you think about using a remote service (backend) to which you send requests in text/binary format. Said service then takes the whole responsibility of writing to the MySQL database? That I believe is a better approach because you can abstract the communication API and not depend on 1 specific domain language, or a specific plugin to handle your remote database trips. You can also have all necessary checks, data validations in the backend, so that your mobile app will only serve as the Front End (client layer).

Please take a look at some good articles about n-tier architectures in Software, which I believe will help you understand what I am suggesting.

Hi Pete,