How do I navigate between two pages while passing and updating data?

Hello,

I started learning {N} about a week ago. I have read the “The NativeScript Book” PDF (up until chapter 8 that covers most of the basics); I have went through the getting started tutorial in the docs; I have been going back and forth between the docs and the API docs; I have looked at online code samples; I have installed and looked at the master-detail template. So far I have not seen a SIMPLE WORKING code example that correctly demonstrates the use of using two simple pages passing and modifying data between the two, using JS and XML.

Most code sample show how to pass data to Page 2 and it stops there. There is a sample in the PDF book “The NativeScript Book” on how to do this, but the code doesn’t work and it crashes. The Firebase template doesn’t work because you have to tinker with Firebase and its setup in order to enable editing in the template and I’m not familiar with Firebase.

This is what I’m looking for…

1. Setup 2 pages using JS and XML.
  2. Page 1 will display an ActionBar with the title of the page and the page content will show some data (eg a label).
  3. Have a button on Page 1 (eg Edit). When you tap this button, it will go to Page 2, transferring the data from Page 1. Let’s say this data shows up on Page 2 in a textfield.
  4. At this point, because you used frame.topmost().navigate(), on Page 2 the “< Back” button will automatically show up in the ActionBar. When you tap this Back button, the page automatically goes back to Page 1, by design, without modifying the data. So far so good.
  5. However, if you change the data on Page 2 (eg you type a string into the textfield) and you press “Done” indicating that you want to commit your changes, you call frame.topmost().navigate() to navigate back to Page 1, transferring the modified data.