Groceries APK size for the groceries demo app?

I’m new to NS so I don’t have the proportion of file size app from NS output.

For the groceries app - I’ve installed webpack and used uglify and release switches :

npm run build-android-bundle --uglify  --release 

But after that - I’ve seen the output file :

Question:

• It has the -debug postfix . Why is that? I executed it with --release
  • Does 16 mb is a reasonable apk size for the groceries app demo ?

webpack.config.js : http://jsbin.com/vivukecuce/edit?html,output

I think you need to pass those params like this: npm run build-android-bundle -- --uglify --release as that command invoked a script in package.json.

What are those extra -- ? a typo ?

Did you try it?

Since build-android-bundle is a script that’s defined in package.json you need to add those extrac dashes to pass params to the script.

If you religiously oppose to using the extra -- then use npm run ns-bundle --android --build-app --uglify --release because that’s what it translates to.

I thank you.

This is what I get when I run :

npm run ns-bundle --android  --uglify --release  --run-app

I think I need to add those --key-store-* - But all I wanted to see is the final non-debug version.

Question:

How can I see the actual release final file ? Currently I don’t know the size of my release app.

Correct, you need to specify those for a release build.

However, running the same command without --release will be a pretty good indicator of apk size. I mean, --uglify will probably make more of a difference.

Btw I found --release builds are a bit faster (at least in startup time), but I don’t think there will be much difference in filesize.

@Eddy
From your experience - isn’t 16 mb is too big for groceries? ( Nativescripts demo app)
I’m just asking so I can get the proportion/scale of an app size (i’m a nativescript beginner programmer.)